current information
Information about Covid and travel

Answers to questions concerning the current Covid-Sotiaton in the Chiemgau-Area can be found here

Learn more
Waginger See mit Wallfahrtskirche Maria Mühlberg
© Richard Scheuerecker

Bajuwarentour

Cycling tour

Cycling in the homeland of Bavaria. In the footsteps of the Bavarians' ancestors, the Bavarians, the tour leads through the Upper Bavarian holiday region around Lake Waging and the Salzburg Lake District.

  • Starting point Tourist Info Waginger See
  • location Waging by the lake
  • distance 126.1 kilometres
  • duration 08:00 hours
  • maximum altitude 627 meters
  • minimum altitude 370 meters
  • altitude difference 1323 ascending
  • altitude difference 1323 descending
difficult difficulty

Tour description:

Waging am See (Waginger See, Bajuwarenmuseum, Strandkurhaus) - Petting (Schönramer Filz) - Laufen (Europabrücke) - Oberndorf (Silent Night Chapel) - Nussdorf (Haunsberg) - Berndorf - Seeham - Obertrum (Obertrumer See) - Mattsee (Bajuwarengehöft, Mattsee ) - Perwang (Grabensee) - Michaelbauern (Benedictine abbey) - Ibm (moor nature trail, moor museum) - Franking (farm museum in Haigermoos) - Ostermiething - Tittmoning (Tittmoning Castle, town square, Ponlach) - Tengling (St. Colomann, lido) - Taching am See (Strandbad) – Waging am See

The Bajuwaren tour takes you away from the main roads, on country and community roads that are always paved, or on designated cycle paths through a beautiful natural and cultural landscape.

From the town center of Waging am See , the tourist center of the Waginger See region , the Bavarian tour follows the lake circular route on the south-west shore of the lake to Petting and via the Abtsdorfer See to the historic Salzach town of Laufen .

In Laufen you cross the historic Salzach Bridge . This is how you get to Austria, in the Salzburger Land to Oberndorf . From there the route continues to Nußdorf am Haunsberg . The tour then rises moderately but steadily to Feichten . There you have reached the "pass height" , it goes downhill to Berndorf . At the end of the village, the tour leads on the sun terrace of the Haunsberg to Innerwall and down to the Teufelsgraben and back up to Schiessend. From here it goes with a wonderful panoramic view , evenly downhill to Matzing and on to Obertrum . From there the tour continues to the center of Mattsee, to the Bajuwaren farmstead in the idyllic Weyer Bay with a cradle, Kneipp facility, mini golf course and playground. The path leads along the cycle path between Obertrumer See and Mattsee in the direction of Seeham via Fraham along the Grabensee to Gransdorf, the former border village between the Archdiocese of Salzburg and the Bavarian Innviertel. From Perwang , the route continues down to the Oichtental and with wonderful panoramic views of the Alps to the Benedictine Abbey of Michaelbeuern .

From Michaelbeuern the route continues to Dorfbeuern and Moosdorf , where the tour branches off towards Ibmer Moor . On a narrow road you cross the moor area to Ibm. The Bajuwaren tour now follows the northern shore road along the lake and continues via Dorfibm to Franking .

From Franking, the Bajuwaren Tour leads to Holzöster , on the Holzöstersee , and on to Haigermoos . The route now descends moderately steeply to Ostermiething and the Salzach . At Ettenau you cross the Salzach . Through the Burghauser Tor you reach the Bavarian town of Tittmoning , which represents the classic Inn-Salzach town with its densely packed baroque, rococo and Biedermeier houses.

You leave the historic old town of Tittmoning through the Laufen Gate in the direction of Tachinger See to the Church of St. Coloman with a view of the lake landscape. The route continues to Tengling , from here the tour follows the lake circuit again, which leads via Taching am See to Waging am See .

Catering option

Beautiful view

Circular tour

Recommended months for this tour

Downloads

Burg Tittmoning

Bajuwaren-Tour

Radtour

Radfahren im Stammland der Bayern. Auf den Spuren der Vorfahren der Bayern, den Bajuwaren, führt die Tour durch die oberbayerische Ferienregion rund um den Waginger See und das Salzburger Seenland.

  • Startpunkt Tourist-Info Waginger See
  • Ort Waging am See
  • Distanz 126,1 Kilometer
  • Dauer 08:00 in Stunden
  • Höchster Punkt 627 Meter
  • Niedrigster Punkt 370 Meter
  • Höhenmeter 1323 aufsteigend
  • Höhenmeter 1323 absteigend
schwer Anspruch

Waging am See (Waginger See, Bajuwarenmuseum, Strandkurhaus) – Petting (Schönramer Filz) – Laufen (Europabrücke) – Oberndorf (Stille Nacht Kapelle) – Nussdorf (Haunsberg) – Berndorf – Seeham - Obertrum (Obertrumer See) – Mattsee (Bajuwarengehöft, Mattsee) – Perwang (Grabensee) – Michaelbauern (Benediktinerabtei) – Ibm (Moorlehrpfad, Moormuseum) – Franking (Bauernmuseum in Haigermoos)– Ostermiething – Tittmoning (Burg Tittmoning, Stadplatz, Ponlach) – Tengling (St. Colomann, Strandbad) – Taching am See (Strandbad) – Waging am See

Die Bajuwaren-Tour führt abseits der Hauptverkehrsstraßen, auf durchwegs asphaltierten Land- und Gemeindestraßen oder ausgewiesenen Radwegen durch eine herrliche Natur- und Kulturlandschaft.

Vom Ortszentrum Waging am See, dem touristischen Zentrum der Region Waginger See, folgt die Bajuwaren-Tour dem Seerundweg am Südwestufer des Sees weiter nach Petting und über den Abtsdorfer See zur historischen Salzachstadt Laufen.

In Laufen überquerst du die historische Salzachbrücke. So gelangt man nach Österreich, ins Salzburger Land nach Oberndorf. Von dort führt die Route weiter nach Nußdorf am Haunsberg. Anschließend steigt die Tour mäßig aber stetig an nach Feichten. Dort hast du die "Passhöhe" erreicht, es geht bergab nach Berndorf. Am Ortsende führt die Tour auf der Sonnenterrasse des Haunsberges nach Innerwall und hinunter zum Teufelsgraben und wieder hinauf nach Schießend. Ab hier geht es mit herrlichem Panoramablick, gleichmäßig bergab nach Matzing und weiter nach Obertrum. Von dort führt die Tour weiter in das Zentrum von Mattsee, ins Bajuwarengehöft in der idyllischen Weyerbucht mit Wiegeliege, Kneipp-Anlage, Minigolf- und Spielplatz. Der Weg führt am Radweg zwischen Obertrumer See und Mattsee Richtung Seeham über Fraham entlang dem Grabensee nach Gransdorf, dem ehemaligen Grenzdorf zwischen dem Erzbistum Salzburg und dem bayerischen Innviertel. Von Perwang, führt die Route weiter hinunter zum Oichtental und mit herrlichen Panoramablicken in die Alpen weiter zur Benediktinerabtei Michaelbeuern.

Von Michaelbeuern führt die Strecke weiter nach Dorfbeuern und Moosdorf, dort zweigt die Tour in Richtung Ibmer Moor ab. Auf einer schmalen Straße durchquerst du das Moorgebiet bis nach Ibm. Die Bajuwaren-Tour folgt nun der Norduferstraße entlang dem See und führt dich weiter über Dorfibm nach Franking.

Von Franking führt die Bajuwaren-Tour nach Holzöster, am Holzöstersee, und weiter nach Haigermoos. Die Route fällt nun mäßig steil nach Ostermiething zur Salzach hin ab. Bei Ettenau überquerst du die Salzach. Durch das Burghauser Tor gelangst du in das bayrische Tittmoning, das mit seinen dichtstehenden Barock-, Rokoko- und Biedermeierhäusern die klassische Inn-Salzach-Stadt repräsentiert.

Du verlässt die historische Altstadt von Tittmoning durch das Laufener Tor in Richtung Tachinger See zur Kirche St. Coloman mit Blick über die Seenlandschaft. Die Route führt weiter nach Tengling, ab hier folgt die Tour wieder dem Seerundweg der über Taching am See, nach Waging am See führt.

Einkehrmöglichkeit

Aussichtsreich

Rundweg

Empfohlene Monate für diese Tour

Downloads